Kielys of Donnybrook – proud supporters of Irish Rugby, invite you to enjoy the atmosphere that is unique to Kielys. With quality beer, first class food served all day, live entertainment and big screen sport we have all tastes catered for.
Kielys is one of south Dublin’s oldest establishments and was first granted a licence in 1739. It owes its origins in the 1700s to the original Donnybrook Fair, notorious for intoxication and debauchery!
Since then, however, history has seen the licence and the premises change hands many times over the years. Proprietors came from all walks of life – from the Ascendency classes to the Merchant classes – but for the pub in its current incarnation, the first Kiely arrived at the end of the Second World War in 1945. The present owners are there since 1988.
Renowned for its speed of service and friendly bar staff, Kielys as we know it now is popular with a mixed clientele from across the board – genuine garglers, the rugby set, the post-work crowd – and does a busy lunch trade at the carvery counter. So whether it’s chilling out with a newspaper and brunch at the weekend, meeting friends during the week, or just enjoying the sport, Kielys has something for everyone.